langenhan

lab

leipzig

 

science.

We study the molecular logic of adhesion GPCRs in health and disease.

We investigate molecular actors that belong to the class of adhesion-type G protein-coupled receptors. These molecules form a large group of surface receptors that constitute natural chimeras between an extracellular adhesion moiety and a transmembrane metabotropic signalling unit.

 

We have discovered that specific adhesion GPCRs control developmental processes such as planar cell polarity and cell migration, and have contributed to the understanding how adhesion and signalling is functionally combined within these mysterious surface receptors.

Recently we have defined adhesion GPCRs as mechanoreceptors suggesting a novel scientific angle to study and understand their physiological profiles in a multitude of tissues and cell types including neurons, glia, muscle, vasculature and the heart.

 

We are also harnessing our knowledge to understand how adhesion GPCR dysfunction results in disease with focus on cancers and neuropsychiatric disorders. To this end we closely collaborate with clinician scientists and human geneticists to identify adhesion GPCR gene variants that cause human ailments.

We study these phenomena using the fruitfly Drosophila melanogaster and the the roundworm Caenorhabditis elegans and employ their vast genetic, molecular biological, imaging and functional toolkits. This is complemented by in vitro and in silico approaches encompassing molecular modifications through genetic code expansion and bioorthogonal click chemistry, pharmacological and cell biological assays, super-resolution and atomic force microscopy, structural biology, and molecular dynamics simulations.

 

people.

Steffen Altrichter

PhD Student

steffen.altrichter@medizin.uni-leipzig.de

Genevieve Auger

PhD Student

genevieve.auger@medizin.uni-leipzig.de

Marina Bigl, PhD

Group Leader

marina.bigl@medizin.uni-leipzig.de

Beatriz Blanco-Redondo, PhD

Group Leader

beatriz.blanco-redondo@medizin.uni-leipzig.de

Andrea Böhme

Technician

andrea.boehme@medizin.uni-leipzig.de

Ina Brauer

PhD Student

ina.brauer@medizin.uni-leipzig.de

Fernando Vieira Contreras

PhD Student

fernando.vieiracontreras@medizin.uni-leipzig.de

Anna Dahse

Technician

anne.dahse@medizin.uni-leipzig.de

Daniella Hall

PhD Student

daniella.hall@medizin.uni-leipzig.de

Kerstin Heise

Technician

kerstin.heise@medizin.uni-leipzig.de

Please reload

Mareike Hemberger

MSc Student

mareike.hemberger@medizin.uni-leipzig.de

Marek Körner

BSc Student

mk41fyki@studserv.uni-leipzig.de

Head of Department

tobi@langenhan-lab.org

Susann Lautenschläger

Technician

susann.lautenschlaeger@medizin.uni-leipzig.de

Dmitrij Ljaschenko, PhD

Group Leader

dmitrij.ljaschenko@medizin.uni-leipzig.de

Bianca Löffler

Secretary

bianca.loeffler@medizin.uni-leipzig.de

Lena Müller

BSc Student

tlm77fiwo@studserv.uni-leipzig.de

Nicole Scholz, PhD

Group Leader

scholzlab@gmail.com

Frank Struck

Technician

frank.struck@medizin.uni-leipzig.de

Robert Wieduwild, PhD

Guest Researcher

robert.wieduwild@medizin.uni-leipzig.de

Please reload

ALUMNI

Robin Fischer

Diploma Student (Biology)

Jennifer Gehring

Diploma (Biology) and PhD Student

Chonglin Guan

PhD Student

Maria Oppmann

Technician

Samuel Widmann

Technician

Please reload

Matthias Nieberler

MD Student

Angelika Schäfer

Technician

Lydia Morris

Professional Training Year Student (Cardiff University)